September 17, 2015 How to Design Documentation with Users in Mind by David Dick

Sign up today and join the STC IDL SIG and the UUX SIG for "How to Design Documentation with Users in Mind" by David Dick on September 17, 2015. 10:30 am Pacific / 11:30 am Mountain / 12:30 pm Central / 1:30 pm Eastern Register on Eventbrite.   eventbrite-142

About the webinar

How to Design Documentation with Users in Mind

We all have ideas about how something works; and we all have ideas about how something should work. These ideas are based on our previous experiences with the same or similar products. When products work the way users think they should work, they can successfully use them. When products do not work the way users think they should work, they get frustrated. Cognitive psychology refers to the way we develop an understanding of how something works as a “mental model.” Mental models are a key concept in the development of user guides, tutorials, demonstrations, and user assistance. This webinar teaches practical approaches to understanding user’s mental models, and the types of documentation we can use to help users develop an accurate understanding about the product, and how to use it successfully. Intended audience: Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced, or All Audiences All levels and all audiences, especially practitioners of instructional design, training documentation, user assistance, and user experience

About the speaker

David Dick

I am an STC Fellow, Manager of the Usability and User Experience SIG, member of the Washington, D.C. – Baltimore Chapter, and co-author of “Web Services, Service-Oriented Architectures, and Cloud Computing: the Savvy Manager’s Guide." You can follow my musings about usability at http://notebook.stc.org/tag/david-dick/. Register on Eventbrite.   eventbrite-142

Leave a Reply